Story Teller (Marshall Cavendish)

A Tribute to the Collection of the World's Best Children's Stories Published by Marshall Cavendish

Twenty-nine Years On

It struck me a day or so ago that Story Teller turns 29 this year. I still remember very clearly how I first learned about this magnificent series, a publication that was to have a lasting impression on me: it was via a TV commercial on ITV. Make that two TV commercials for, if I remember correctly, there were two versions shown on TV. They started to appear shortly after Christmas 1982 to announce the big launch in January 1983.

I have vivid memories of those adverts. I remember the animated illustrations from the first issue: Gobbolino being fished out of the river, Aldo zooming high with his flying vacuum, and the vain Emperor walking naked in a street parade. Most of all, I remember the now famous Story Teller jingle, a piece of music that from then on would never fail to assure me that something magical is about to happen whenever I hear it.

Using some of the money I got for Christmas, I bought the first issue from my local newsagent as soon as I could. I have to admit that at first I was quite disappointed to see that it was just a “normal” book. You see, I expected to see the pictures move as they appeared in the TV commercials but the illustrations were very much static!

My disappointment didn’t last very long though. Story Teller started to weave its spell as soon as I played the cassette and “that” jingle transported me to a fairy tale world that I would return to again and again, issue by issue, as a child and even now as an adult. The static illustrations that had so disappointed me at first became alive before my very eyes. The experience was simply … magic.

For two years, I would save up my pocket money to buy each fortnightly issue. Of course, at Christmas I had to save extra to be able to afford the bumper Christmas issues. It was a struggle but well worth the sacrifice for at the end of it all I ended up with a magnificent collection of the world’s best children’s stories and poems. Even today, I have yet to encounter a collection that could rival Story Teller’s fantastic range of stories and exceptionally beautiful illustrations. Nothing has ever come close. Period.

Next year, it’s Story Teller’s 30th anniversary. Dare we hope that Eaglemoss would mark the milestone by re-issuing the series on CD? It’s probably too much to hope for … but then again, if there’s one thing Story Teller has taught me it is the fact that nothing is impossible if you wish hard enough!

8 comments on “Twenty-nine Years On

  1. Alan
    5 January, 2012

    Nice write up. I wonder whatecer happened to my old copies.

  2. wang dong
    5 April, 2012

    i like the series just like you like it…great memory which would last forever

  3. CindyCB
    15 May, 2012

    I only had one issue, Story Teller 2, Part 13 but it’s left an impression on me and I so wish I could have it on CD. Just to hear about Geordie’s Mermaid ‘Shell Pink’ again would be amazing.

  4. Noe
    21 June, 2012

    Wow, what a blast from the past… I’m 36 now but I clearly remember my little red tape box and my folder… Story Teller was definitely responsible for teaching me to read properly and I used to get SO excited when I picked up my latest copy, I would rush home and be lost in my stories. for what seemed like forever..

    THANK YOU SO MUCH, you have brought a nostalgic tear to my eye… If only I would have kept all my mags and tapes…

    Paul…

  5. Tracy
    28 June, 2012

    I have kept all my volumes 1 & 2 with tapes so that i would be able to share them with my children which is what we are in the process of doing. So far they are loving Gobillino, Aldo in Arcadia and Slice of the Rainbow. I am going to attempt to upload the cassettes although straight away i cannot get tape 1 to work (think it too tight?) so might have to get the odd replacement here and there from eBay. Was hoping someone had already uploaded them but all links appear broken since they have been done which is a shame. As it is 30 years next year we can hope that they release it on CD.

  6. I too have all my little tapes and volumes. Today is my 27th birthday so am just reliving some nostalgic memories. The Storyteller stories were responsible for protecting me from all the scary monsters under my bed by sending me to sleep and to keep me entertained in the car. What a wonderful series and it’s such a shame kids nowadays have Peppa bimmin Pig! They just don’t make them like they used to……. 😦

  7. kirsty
    8 July, 2012

    i am also 36 and would love these for my kids…unfortunately due to a misunderstanding, my sets dissapeared when lent out…what is this company thinking?! they could be making a mint by releasing these as a cd or mp3 collection :O …come on eaglemoss, these kept me occupied for hours at bedtime as a non-sleeper…who has the the time or inclination to battle with their kids at bedtime when storyteller could be sending them happily off to sleep for us? dont miss a trick 🙂

    • Tracy
      8 July, 2012

      Kirsty if you want them then go on the Story Teller Facebook page where you will find a lady who will put them on a computer disc the whole lot series 1, 2 and Little Storyteller both audio and the books themselves all for £10 (£5 of which goes to a disabled charity)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 3 January, 2012 by in Articles.
