Story Teller (Marshall Cavendish)

A Tribute to the Collection of the World's Best Children's Stories Published by Marshall Cavendish

Synopses: ST1/Part 26

Folk Tales of the World
The Goblin Rat
Artist Mary Van Riemsdyke was a young girl when she first heard this Japanese tale of a ferocious, giant rat. Now she tells it again, in her own words and with her own illustrations.

Classic Fairy Stories
Thumbelina
Hans Christan Andersen’s magical fairy heroine, little Thumbelina, strays far from home before she finally finds her prince – the last of many strange suitors.

The Magic World of Animals
Where can an Elephant Hide?
Morris was never much good at hide-and-seek, until one day the game got serious. Then he had to learn quickly! This hilarious tale of animal camouflage was written by American author David McPhail.

Tales of Today
A Lion at School
What would you do if you met a lion on your way to school? Take him with you? Well, that’s what one girl did in this lively tale specially adapted for Story Teller by author Philippa Pearse.

The Story Teller Classic
Captain Bones
John Ford tells this story – based on an idea by Eric Maple – of ghosts, skeletons and smuggling on the Cornish coast in the late 18th century. But everything is not quite what it seems!

Cartoon Heroes
Aldo in Arcadia
Help! The princess has been kidnapped. And writer John Sheridan gives Aldo and vacuum their sternest test yet – a terrifying air battle against the dreaded Grip Brothers!

About Timbertwig

Writer, editor, web designer.

2 comments on “Synopses: ST1/Part 26

  1. Lotte
    1 June, 2013

    Does anybody know the name of a story in which a dog called rover gets his foot stuck in a bear trap and someone can hear him howling from afar at night, I believe I had it on a tape of short stories a while back and it also had Scarlet Braces on it. If anybody knows what I’m talking about if you replied with the name I would be so happy I’ve wanted to find out what it is for ages, my memory of it is a bit hazy as it was so many years ago that I listened to it but that’s what I remember of it

  2. Lotte
    1 June, 2013

    Does anybody know the name of a story in which a dog called rover gets his foot stuck in a bear trap and someone can hear him howling from afar at night, I believe that I had it on a tape of short stories a while back and it also had Scarlet Braces on it. If anybody knows what I’m talking about if you replied with the name I would be so happy I’ve wanted to
    find out what it is for ages, my memory of it is a bit hazy as it was so many years ago that I listened to it but that’s what I remember of it

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 3 October, 2009 by in Synopses.
